Skip to content

Democratic Party nominations

The Scioto County Democratic Party elected to nominate local attorney Rachel Daehler as the party’s candidate for Scioto County Prosecutor in the November 2018 election. The party also formally endorsed nine local candidates in that same election.

The actions were taken during the party’s monthly meeting on July 26.

Daehler graduated from Portsmouth High School, and graduated college from Shawnee State University and Capital University. She was an assistant prosecuting attorney in the Licking County Prosecutor’s Office, where she handled grand juries in the felony division. She and her husband then moved to South Carolina to follow his career, and she took a job as the only North American Counsel for a global manufacturing company. They later moved back to their hometown of Portsmouth to put down roots and raise their family, and to help improve the community where they grew up. She currently works at Burnside Law, handling neglect, wrongful death, and medical malpractice cases, and misdemeanor cases in the Portsmouth Municipal Court. She also works with the domestic and juvenile courts.

Daehler said she was excited to receive the party’s nomination.

“I’ve got some great ideas about what we’re going to do with the campaign, and some community events that we hope to be involved with. I’m ready to get going,” Daehler said, enthusiastically.

Local candidates endorsed by the party were:

• Adrienne Buckler for Ohio House of Representatives, 90th District
• Jerry Buckler for Scioto County Common Pleas Domestic Relations Court Judge
• Rachel Daehler for Scioto County Prosecutor
• Valarie Gerlach for Fourth District Court of Appeals Judge
• David Green for Scioto County Auditor
• Marie Hoover for Fourth District Court of Appeals Judge
• Trampas Puckett for Scioto County Commissioner
• Shawna Roberts for U.S. House of Representatives (OH-6)
• Jill Schiller for U.S. House of Representatives (OH-2)

The party also endorsed the slate of state and federal Democrat candidates, including Sen. Sherrod Brown for U.S. Senate, Richard Cordray and Betty Sutton for Ohio Governor and Lt. Governor, respectively, Zack Space for Ohio Auditor, Steve Dettelbach for Ohio Attorney General, Kathleen Clyde for Ohio Secretary of State, Rob Richardson for Ohio Treasurer, Judge Melody Stewart for Ohio Supreme Court, Judge Michael Donnelly for Ohio Supreme Court.

The Scioto County Democratic Party’s Central Committee meets on the fourth Thursday of each month, at 7 p.m., in the Vern Riffe Community Center, in New Boston. For more information about the Scioto County Democratic Party, visit them online at, or follow them on Facebook and Twitter.

Leave a Comment